Don’t Make this Mistake on LinkedIn

Keep Your "Stealth Job Search" Secret with this one little trick....

Ok, you have had it at work and you have decided it is time to make a change. So, naturally you start to get ready to conduct a job search. You update your resume. You update your LinkedIn profile and voila, you are ready!

What you might not realize is that you have possibly just broadcast your intentions to your entire LinkedIn network. That could include your current colleagues and even your boss if you are connected on LinkedIn. Your desire to look is for a new job is no longer a secret….

Uh oh! How can you avoid this potential disaster? It is actually easy. You just need to turn off your profile update notifications, so any updates to your profile are no longer broadcast to your network through the home page feed.

Here is how:

  • Go to your profile

  • Scroll down just a bit and look on the right hand side of your profile

  • You will see a choice that says - Notify your network. Below that will be a button that is either green (Yes, publish an update to my network about my profile changes) or red (No, do not publish an update to my network about my profile changes).

  • If it is red, you are good to go. If it is green, you can take your mouse and slide it into the red position. That is all there is to it.

See Screenshot:

Protect your privacy and search for a new job in “stealth mode” by making this one little change. Happy hunting!!

Dana Maggi, Career Coach

678-653-0252 office

dana@careerpainrelief.com

www.careerpainrelief.com

https://www.linkedin.com/in/danamaggi

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square